The North-West Ceramics Foundation Mayer Wosk Award of Excellence

Alwyn O’Brien, At the altar of soft pleasures porcelain and glazes, 2017, 20 x 9 x 13 inches. Collection of Everson Museum of Art. Photo credit: Ken Mayer.

In 2009, the North-West Ceramics Foundation initiated The North-West Ceramics Foundation Award of Excellence for $5000. The award provides tangible recognition of an individual ceramic artist who has resided and worked in BC for at least 5 years, who has exhibited his or her work publicly, and who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the ceramics community.

In 2020, Yosef Wosk announced that his Family Foundation will provide an ongoing contribution to the NWCF. Consequently, the name for the Award has been changed to the NWCF Mayer Wosk Award of Excellence. The new title honours both the Wosk Family and Dr. Carol E. Mayer, a founding Board member who first proposed the award.

Nominations for the award can be made by individual artists or by third parties. There are no requirements expected of the recipient, who is selected from the nominations by a panel of experts familiar with the work of BC-based ceramic artists. Recipients make short presentations on their work at an award ceremony.

Nominations are now closed.


2021 Recipient

Robin DuPont

2018 Recipients (shared award)

Judy Chartrand
Jackie Frioud

2015 Recipient
Gailan Ngan

2012 Recipient
Alwyn O’Brien

2009 Recipients (shared award)
Lisa Henriques
Ian Johnston

Criteria for The North-West Ceramics Foundation Award of Excellence
The North-West Ceramics Foundation Award of Excellence is a non-solicited award given to a BC ceramic artist who has demonstrated excellence in the ceramic arts.


  • Must have worked in BC for five years and be a current resident
  • Must have a public exhibit record
  • Must have made a significant contribution to BC Ceramics

Awards Committee:

  • One NWCF Board Member
  • One BC resident who is working in clay and is a senior practitioner
  • A recognized authority on BC ceramics arts – curator/writer/critic etc. (this person could be from outside the province)

Award: $5,000.000

Conditions of Award: None
Presented at a NWCF Fundraising event.
​Recipient is expected to produce a short presentation (in any format) to be delivered when and where award is presented.